Iraq, Turkey, Britain, Pakistan and Iran Sign Economic and Military Treaty

Timeline of History

History Topics

Iraq, Turkey, Britain, Pakistan, and Iran sign a treaty pledging economic and military cooperation. This agreement is technically called the Central Treaty Organization (CENTO), but it will become more popularly known as the "Baghdad Pact" and produces quite a bit of strife in the Middle East because many nations view it as a thinly veiled attempt to split Arab nations apart.

It is, in fact, part of the efforts of the United States to create a string of treaties around the world similar to NATO and for the purpose of containing communist expansion from the Soviet Union and China. This treaty is open to any nation except Israel and in March, Saudi Arabia, Egypt, and Syria will join an alliance as a counter-move.

Powered by JReviews

Today's Major Events

Malcolm X Assassinated in Harlem
Jimmy Swaggart Delivers His Infamous 'I Have Sinned' Speech on TV
Biochemist James Watson Builds First Model of DNA Molecule

February History Calendar